THE HAUNTING OF MY STORE IN NUNEATON 62 QUEENS ROAD – HALLOWEEN BLOG

23 Oct

So I am finally sitting down and writing about the supernatural/unexplained experiences that myself, my partner and a great deal of my staff and even customers experienced at my two stores in Queens Road, Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England over the nearly twenty years we were trading there.

Entertainment Exchange which myself and my partner Dawn opened in 1994 became the biggest music/gaming/film collector’s store in the West Midlands.  They were housed in two buildings next door to each other.  60 Queens Road focused on the video games and movies, whilst 62 Queens Road was a magnificent music and vinyl store.

Both buildings were extremely historic and atmospheric but this blog will be solely based around the experiences at 62 Queens Road.  62 Queens Road the music store was mainly my responsibility.  I can honestly say some of the things I experienced here may seem to be actually the stuff of the movies or nightmares.  But I am an extremely logical and also doubting individual although I do believe.  Well I have to believe after the things I have seen with my own two eyes.  Everything I describe here is true and is related as accurately as I can remember.  So where to begin?  Well at the very beginning of course.  So sit back, grab a gin or something stronger and I will try and put down out into the ether what actually occurred.

Dawn and I had already made a success of 60 Queens Road and now wanted to expand by also moving into 62 and turning it into a big two floor music store.  I was always the music girl so this expansion was mainly my duty.  I would be responsible for this store and the staff.  The very day before 62 Queens Road was going to open I had to make sure all the records were priced and everything was ready for the big opening.  We were due to open on a Monday so the Sunday before I spent upstairs in the shop pricing vinyl and laying out displays.  Dawn my legendary other half is not really the music dealer so she dropped me off at the shop, locked me in on that Sunday afternoon leaving me to do all I had to do and promising to pick me up in about four hours time.

So that Sunday, I set to getting my store ready to open.  The vinyl was mainly based on the second floor and I had boxes of new stuff I wanted to price and only four hours to get it done.  So off I went up the stairs and had the company of only a radio which I tuned in to the chart show.  I became engrossed in pricing and started to get quite excited about the opening of the new store.  Suddenly as I was totally caught up in putting some LP’s in racks, I saw something in the corner of my eye in the direction of the old office.  I caught the image of a woman.  A small dumpy woman dressed in black with dark hair which was put up in a bun at the back of her head. Shocked I turned my head straight to the store room door and the image vanished in front of me.

Absolutely shocked and now very scared I was faced with the bare truth that I had seen something that I could not explain and I still had to stay in that building locked in for probably another three hours.  Also I had to finish the work as the shop had to open the next day.  There would be no opening unless I got all these LP’s out on display.

I spent the next few hours in a state of suspended panic.  The only thing that really kept me sane was the radio.  I refused to look up towards the store room again.

When, finally I heard Dawn knocking at the door downstairs and calling my name.  I calmly switched the radio off then ran downstairs.  I have no idea to this day how I managed to keep my fear under control for so long.

I knew I would have to keep this to myself.  We employed a lot of young staff, who I was worried could be quite impressionable and that coupled with the new shop opening this could cause a bit of unwanted hysteria behind the scenes.  I also did not want to tell my partner Dawn because I also knew that she was a little bit more disturbed by anything supernatural than I was and I did not want her to be spooked.  So I kept my experience to myself and tried to push it to the back of my mind.

I started to notice a few other weird things started to occur just very mild at first.  I would put items down and within minutes of me turning back to pick them up they would not be in the same place or they would simply be lost forever.

I also started to notice a quite strong smell in the mornings when I would open up it was like a very old fashioned pipe tobacco mixed with furniture polish.  It would dissipate pretty quickly but then sometimes mid-morning it would suddenly appear again very strongly.

Also out of the corner of my eye I would occasionally catch the shape of somebody or something, but turn my head quickly and there would be nobody or nothing there.  This actually got to be extremely annoying and very frequent.  I still kept this all to myself not wanting to cause any alarm.

It must have been about three months after my very first experience on that scary Sunday when I was traveling home in the car with Dawn and that we had the following conversation:

“Have you ever experienced anything odd in the music shop?”  Dawn suddenly asked me.  “What do you mean by odd?” I replied already pretty sure I knew exactly what she meant.  “Creepy, unexplained, ghostly?” she asked.  Well there was no point in lying any more.  “Yes I have” I said “but tell me what you saw first before I say anything” I told her.  I wanted to know what Dawn had seen without in any way tainting it’s accuracy with my experience.

Dawn then told me that when painting the floorboards of the shop upstairs a few weeks before it opened she had seen in the very same place as I had, an image of a woman matching the very same description as I had seen.  I was both shocked and relieved at the same time, because this verified what I had seen.  So I told her of my experience and from that point we both swore to share anything that happened with each other only, but not with the staff.

Then of course bit by bit the staff started to take me into their confidence and tell me about the things they had experienced.  Many of the staff had encountered the figure in their peripheral vision, also noises were occurring upstairs and there was no way I could hide it any more.  Myself, and staff heard footsteps on the upper floor after the shop was closed and lots of noise coming from the storeroom area.  Including extremely loud moving and banging sounds, which were quite prolonged and pronounced!

The amount of staff that started to experience strange phenomena was almost increasing by the day.  A lad came to work for me by the name of Robert (I have changed his name as I am not so sure he would want identifying)  Robert eventually stayed with me for nearly fifteen years and became the overall manger of both stores.

It was now widely discussed when customers were not around by the staff that there was definitely something extremely strange going on at 62 Queens Road.  Robert would have no truck with this.  He always laughed when anybody mentioned another odd happening, he proclaimed to be an atheist and a non-believer in anything that did not have a rational explanation.  Well that did not last long.  Whatever was happening at 62 Queens Road seemed to want to change Robert’s mind.

It started with Robert feeling somebody who was plainly invisible push past him on one side of his body and then the other side.  Then he started to continually get the shape in his peripheral vision and it seemed to focus on him until one day Robert came down the stairs he was himself as white as a ghost.   He told me he had seen a full on apparition of a male at the end of the upstairs floor that had seemed to shimmer then disappear.  Robert had gone to the end of the floor and down the end stairs that lead to the toilets, of course there was nobody there.

I can only witness the fact that Robert was extremely shook-up and whatever he had seen had scared him and he felt was inexplicable.

Then I can honestly say the strange events, incidences, occurrences whatever you want to call them just seemed to keep increasing almost at a daily rate.  I will start listing them I can’t guarantee after the amount of time that has past that they are chronologically correct but I can assure you these from my standpoint are what I and others experienced.

With the items that we were selling in both stores we had ensure we had a top alarm system in place it had to be ‘red care’.  We had this system installed in the new shop but this did not stop the alarm continually going off at night and we had to drive the 25 miles to the store at all times of the night.  Each time the panel would indicate that something upstairs had triggered the alarm.  We had the alarm put on something called double knock which meant that anything falling like a poster could not trigger the alarm.  Still at the most random of times the alarm would be triggered and the display panel would always state it had been something upstairs that had caused the alarm to sound.

The most dramatic of these false alarms was on a New Year’s Eve.  It seemed that the alarm had settled down we had not had any alarms go off outside shop hours for over six months.  I had mentioned early in the evening ‘wouldn’t it be wild if the alarm went off tonight.’  So the countdown to midnight began, I had not had a drop to drink but poured a whiskey…….I started to join in the countdown to the new year on the television, “10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4,” (I put the glass to my lips) “3.”   At three seconds to midnight the home telephone rang.  “Hello Miss Collings, this is Warwickshire Police the alarm has gone off at your premises on Queens Road.”  We of course drove those twenty five miles to the store and yes you have guessed it.  There was no reason for the alarm to have been triggered.  Yes though, of course it was something upstairs that had caused it to once again sound.  We actually received a warning letter from Warwickshire police that our alarm was basically going to be un-monitored if this continued.  Well eventually this did cease.  I can assure you there was no problem with the system itself and this took place over about four years in total.

My mind is now spinning with the amount of stuff that happened so please forgive me if my writing style borders on chaotic or becomes like a list but I am just going to throw events out there that happened it may not always be chronologically correct but recalling them they are flooding my mind so here we go:

One particular time I was working late with three other staff members, when we heard chaos and the sound of heavy running footsteps coming from upstairs it sounded like about five or six people running and then it stopped.  We basically all froze.  Me, being the boss and rapidly running out of courage sent my staff up those stairs first. We slowly and gingerly walked up the stairs in a line.  Of course there was nobody there.  Absolutely nobody at all.  Well we knew that but we had to see for ourselves.  We speedily came down those stairs locked up and left.

I remember one Friday night being the last person out of the shop and making sure I had tidied a compact disc rack before I exited.  Then being the first person to enter the shop that Saturday morning the rack was now half empty with the CD’s thrown around the shop.

Moving and messing with stock was common, particularly upstairs.  The upstairs floor was full of records and VHS tapes and they would regularly be strewn across the floor when we would open up.

Dawn didn’t really work in the record store she worked next door in the video game store but when she came round at the end of the night she seemed to cause quite a few things to happen.  Whatever was at work didn’t really like Dawn being there.  Perhaps because when Dawn would come round she was very intent on making sure everything was safe before we locked up.

One morning we opened up the store and Dawn went upstairs to open the back doors up and check everything.  Immediately she felt the heat and saw an old heater had been plugged in and left on all night.  Dawn then went and admonished the member of staff who should have ensured that it was unplugged.  “Tonight I will make sure this is unplugged because I can’t trust you.”  Dawn said to the staff the next evening.  So when we came to lock up that evening Dawn made sure she was the last person down from upstairs and everything, especially this old heater was unplugged.  Of course the next morning when we opened up Dawn mounted those stairs first and the heater was plugged in.  But, when Dawn went to unplug the heater, the plug dismantled in her hand.

Another time Dawn was upstairs and called for Robert and myself, to come upstairs she sounded panicked.  “Quickly the roof has leaked bring kitchen roll there is water on the floor and running down the walls” she then went downstairs to fetch the phone.

Robert and I ran upstairs…..we could see nothing no water on the floor there was absolutely nothing.  We were at a loss as to understand what Dawn had been talking about.  Dawn then came back with the phone and frantically started to ask us how bad the damage was?  When we told her there was nothing she was annoyed and irritated she quickly came up the stairs and we then showed her the floor and the walls and the lack of water.  To say Dawn was shocked would be an understatement.

The peripheral vision shapes kept on going and the noises upstairs continued apace.

One rather scary event was one evening, when locking up.  Robert was in the storeroom upstairs putting the next day’s float in the safe.  The storeroom door was shut and he was locked into the shop on his own with the door locked from inside.  As he was reckoning the money up he saw under the door, in the light, footsteps approaching the door, under the door and he heard the footsteps slowly keeping pace with the shadows.  To say this was terrifying for Robert is an understatement.  He finally gathered all his courage and then opened the door of course there was nobody there.  There was nobody else in the shop apart from Robert. He was locked in on his own.

Other members of staff would continually come to me with stories and actually have done nearly twenty years after some of them have left they tell me experiences they were too scared to relate at the time.  I also had a few staff actually want to leave because they could not stand working in the shop and particularly upstairs.

I was the first up the stairs one morning onto the record floor and there on the record player was a 1970’s photograph of a young girl’s first Holy Communion.  I have no idea where it came from and it was extremely eerie.  She had a bouquet of roses clutched to her that looked almost blood-like.  But 62 Queens Road was at one time a photography shop for many years.  We soon discovered the description of the female figure that Dawn and I had both seen before the shop opened fitted the description of the lady who had managed the shop for many years.

So what of the male figure Robert had seen.  Well one morning when I mounted the stairs up to the top floor not thinking about anything in particular.  There in front of me, probably five years after Robert’s experience was the figure of a late middle aged man.  Possibly just entering his sixties if I had to hazard a guess.  The first person that sprang to mind was the actor Stan Stennett then this shimmering image disappeared before my eyes.  There were many things that scared me in that shop but this was not one of them.  I just sort of accepted it and it was extremely like the image that Robert had seen.  I actually went downstairs told Robert and we both then laughed about it.

Of course running a record shop I had a lot of very cool young people work in the store.  One particular girl I will call Teresa worked in the store for a while and changed her hair on a daily basis.  One day it would be a pink Mohican and then it would be a green skinhead.  Unfortunately her great hair captured the attention of something other than the customers and the staff.  She told me one day that she had been eating her lunch in the staff kitchen when suddenly this man had approached her and stared right at her, with a deeply curious gaze and very close up to her and looking in particular at her hair and then vanished.  It was not long after this that she left the Entertainment Exchange.

It was not just the staff that were starting to feel what was happening it was also the customers.  One day a fellow record dealer who used to buy a lot from me told me that he had been upstairs buying records and that he sensed that the shop was haunted he had seen some of the spirits.  This became a pattern that was often repeated.  One customer asked us “did we know the shop was haunted?” and then told us that he had been looking through the videos upstairs when he had witnessed an apparition.”  He was totally  unphased but wondered if we actually knew!

One night we had the actors who played the Weasley Twins from Harry Potter at the shop to do a signing.  The local newspaper turned up to take photographs.  After the photographs of the twins had been taken.  The photographer a guy in his late fifties approached.  “Have you ever experienced anything strange in 62?”  He warily asked me.

So I replied telling him yes I had and started to regale him with a few incidents.  The photographer then went on to tell me he had learnt his craft at 62 Queens Road when it had been a photography shop and had worked there for a while but that even then it had been extremely haunted.  He asked me if the atmosphere got worse in the autumn and in the evenings.  I was quite shocked, “yes” I affirmed it does.  “Something does not want to have you there after sunset I remarked.”  The photographer gentlemen then went on to confirm many of the things we had suspected.  The staff at 62 Queens Road when it was a photography shop had got to the stage they refused to work after 6.00 pm as they felt something was trying to get them out of the shop.  He also told us the answer to this lay in the archives of the Nuneaton Tribune.  The shop had received a direct hit in World War Two and that where the upstairs extension now was there had once been a shelter which had received a direct hit and been obliterated.

We had noticed now for quite a while the strange events seemed to escalate as the sun dropped and also the Winter months were always more active than the Summer.  Except, strangely enough if it was an extremely warm day then this could seem to trigger some odd activity.

So time moved on and the weird stuff did not decrease I think the staff and Dawn and I got used to it over time.  We never once tried to publicise this, if anything we tried to keep it quiet.  We were not running a hotel or a historic site, having a ghost was not really going to increase our sales.

So downloads became king and slowly our business changed we were stuck in that hinterland before records were extremely collectible.  So mail order and Ebay became far more important to the business.  This eventually meant that the upstairs floor at Queens Road became a mail order floor.  Now I was the queen of the mail order so that meant I was stationed upstairs.

So I was upstairs on the computers listing and this could mean me being locked in the shop up until ten at night making sure all the addresses were printed and all loose ends tied up.  Often the metal shutters would be pulled down at the front and back for safety.  Dawn and other members of staff would be next door so I was really pretty much locked in alone.

I can’t say I was delighted at being now stationed upstairs but I had no choice the money had to come in to pay the bills and that meant I had to just get my head down and get on with it.

It wasn’t long before things started to happen.  As I sat at the computer upstairs the peripheral vision shapes really escalated.  After hours the activity really seemed to increase, more than anything the atmosphere upstairs seemed as thick as fog.  One particular night I was looking for a particular address upstairs and I felt as if everything around me was just shimmering and I know this is subjective but I can only tell you how I felt.  I had the feeling I could actually slip or disappear into another world or time zone the air felt so thick.  Dawn later told me she had once experienced the same feeling when she was on her own upstairs.

One night I was sitting working and playing an audio book which I often did to keep my mind occupied.  The audio book was set in the war and a siren sounded.  The minute that siren sounded the atmosphere around me changed and behind me.  I could hear in my ears indistinguishable but very clear whispering and the whispers became louder.  I was terrified.  I picked up my mobile and called Dawn “hurry up please…..just please come and get me.”

There was many a time I was very scared sitting on my own upstairs and I can truly say that a lot of what happened again I cannot explain.  Items would go missing almost in front of your eyes.  Also the sounds I would hear would be almost daily.

I am not sure how I managed to tolerate a lot of what happened, other than we had to earn a certain amount of money so I just got my head down, and carried on.

62 Queens Road was on a lease as opposed to 60 Queens Road which we owned, and we finally handed the lease back and handed the property back to the landlord.  But things didn’t end there.

We were still of course based in 60 Queens Road and could see who occupied 62.  The first tenants did not last long and after telling us they found the shop incredibly creepy they left for good.

The current tenants owned another store in Coventry so put a manager in the Nuneaton store.  The manager who we shall call Adi was working at the shop and staying at the shop until very late at night.

One day I was passing the shop and saw Adi.  I asked him how he was.  He told me he was fine.  I am not sure why I wanted to ask him but it just came out.  “Have you ever experienced anything strange in the shop?” I asked him before I could think twice about it.  “What do you mean strange he asked?”  “Creepy, spooky, ghostly” I replied……………..”No” he said then suddenly in what I can only describe was like something out of the Stepford Wives movie he turned to me and said.  “There are six of them, they talk to me.  Please don’t tell anyone, please.  Do you miss them?  You can see them again if you want you can talk to them again.”  This absolutely sent me reeling, Adi looked terrified.  “No thank you” I answered “I really don’t want to see them again.”  I was shocked and immediately went into my store at 60 Queens Road and told Dawn.  After half an hour I went to my car to fetch some stock, Adi saw me from the shop and ran out to me looking very disturbed.  “Please do not tell anybody about what I have told you, please.  They are really angry, Angela they do not actually like you.”  I had never told Adi my name.

Poor Adi every time I saw him he looked more and more distressed.  We actually received an offer to buy our shop at 60 Queens Road from Adi’s boss.  He told Dawn and I that he wanted to buy the shop because Adi could not stand working at 62 Queens Road with the spirits much longer.  He was at a loss himself as to what to think but he knew that his manager was almost demented with fear at spending all that time on his own at 62 Queens Road.

I tried many times to get a priest to come to the shop.  Hell, I even agreed to advertise in the local Catholic church diary but at the last minute something would always happen and the priest would never show.  I honestly feel whoever is there at 62 Queens Road wants to stay at 62 Queens Road and I don’t want this blog in any way to mean they are removed.  I have come to the conclusion that the spirits at 62 Queens Road want to very much stay and when they move on is up to them.

Of course you may well think I am totally bonkers, that Dawn is bonkers and that this is a whole load of utter bollocks.  I can only relate to you what I have experienced, what my staff experienced and I can also tell you I am actually a pretty rational person and I have no reason to lie.  The events at 62 Queens Road far from being of any benefit to us have actually traumatised me and Dawn too.  There has been no gain from any of this and the pervading feeling of fear has been extremely wearing for both of us.

Believe or don’t believe but this is what happened and is continuing to happen.  I am also only scratching the surface with this because I have found this blog extremely hard to write.  There were many more happenings that have never made it to this blog.

“There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than dreamt of in your philosophy.”  Oh how right Hamlet was.

If you have any questions at all, please do ask me.  The record store is on the right as you view the picture.

Image

79 Responses to “THE HAUNTING OF MY STORE IN NUNEATON 62 QUEENS ROAD – HALLOWEEN BLOG”

  1. Karen October 24, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    great blog, I swear i never slept all night !!

    • angelacollings October 24, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

      Thank you so much and oh I’m sorry I was like that many a night after coming home x

  2. Reece Drennan October 24, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

    Finally got round to reading this! Great blog to start with. Half way through reading this in the dark, upstairs.. Everything went compeletly silent even my constantly noisey laptop and i swear there was someone in the corner of my eye! Someone that i once seen when i first moved in here 15 years ago.. Freaked out.. ran to turn the light on an carried on reading! Haha Angela you’ve brought the “Grey Lady” back into my life.. Brilliant.. Xx

    • angelacollings October 24, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

      Oh no Reece I’m sorry but glad you enjoyed it too. Oh next meal I want to hear all about the ‘Grey Lady’….XXX

      • James April 7, 2015 at 10:36 am #

        Great read i havnt always believed in the supernatural until an event that happened when i was a child after midinight i was in bed at that time i shared a room with my older brother , everyone was sound asleep , then the cd player in my room turned on and started playing music , i ran out of my bed to check it out and turn it off. It wasnt my brother he was asleep , it wasnt anyone else my door was shut so i checked to see if it was one of my cats but there was nothing. I believe it was my great great grandma she passed away in my room when the house was hers. After that the room always fralt warmer like someone was giving you a hug or that feeling you get when a loving one watches over you. Eventually though we lost the house and were forced to move dont think she is too happy with that ahah

  3. Vick Ryder October 25, 2013 at 7:01 am #

    Great reading, Ange. I had a very similar experience in a house in Banbury. We had to move after 10 months. The night we moved, the clock started going backwards and footsteps were racing across the attic floor. The new people moved in, put their dog in the kitchen, closed the door and went to bed. Next morning, no dog….I’ll tell you the story someday. Are you down in London anytime? Come and have dinner. Vick x

    • angelacollings October 27, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      Wow Vick I want to hear this story. No dog????? You have me hooked. Dinner would be absolutely lovely not sure when but we will be down will let you know that sounds smashing. xx

  4. leigh June 3, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

    I always felt a bit creeped out flicking through vinyl upstairs! Never figured out why, this may well have been why :-$

  5. carol July 17, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

    Hi I’ve just read your experiences and kind of know what you felt.. I’m not one to talk about this kind of thing but as I actually live in queens road I felt I should and from reading your write up I know I’m not going mad! I’ve lived at the other end of the road for 3 years but from day 1 I have saw and heard things. . But it seems to be the same man I see even my dog can sense something at times.. maybe we could swap experiences?

    • angelacollings July 19, 2014 at 12:29 am #

      Carol it is one creepy road. I would be happy to share experiences with you. I have no clue what is going on down there but something very strange is.

      • carol July 19, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

        Totally agree I thought I was the only one.. I live in one of the old house by the school and since day 1 I’ve saw a man walking down my stairs on a regular basis..We’ve heard weird noises and even our dog has acted funny and gone mad barking. I’d love to know who this man is.. I do know queens road is an old part of town so it must have some kind of history to cause these unexplained happenings.. what were the shops in 1930s? Do you know?

  6. angelacollings July 20, 2014 at 6:48 pm #

    There are stories all the way down Queens Road. The Crew, both the shops I used to have. The washing machine shop next door, even the porn shop lol. I focused on 62 Queens Road but 60 Queens Road the other store I had is equally haunted and the man has been seen in both so it is not beyond the realms of possibility that he could travel. 62 Queens Road has windows that are inside the shop. This dates from the second world war. It walso received a hit in the war. It was a tailors shop and then a photographers. Then 60 Queens Road was a small department store. Queens Road was ‘The’ Road in the days before the ring road cut that part of the street off from the rest. Of course that part of Nuneaton was also very badly hit in the Coventry blitz on the night they dropped the bombs on Nuneaton

  7. Lee Mallabone October 19, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

    Hi I don’t know if you remember me or not. I use to come in the shop all the time. And use to come to your market shall you had before the shop. I use to buy many 50’s rock n roll records. With black hair and a quiff! ! I use to spend a good couple of hours at a time in your shop going though the vinyl. Sometimes I would be the only one up stairs record hunting. I many spent my time looking at 45’s they were kept in a long thin passage way up stairs with a door at the end. More than once I heard things and felt a little uneasy shall we say.
    I thought I saw someone once standing by the door at the end of the passage way . But I just put this down to my mind playing tricks and thought no more of it.

    • angelacollings October 19, 2014 at 4:53 pm #

      Hi Lee, of course I remember you. I hope all is good with you? The upstairs was certainly the centre of the whole haunting. As I say in my blog so many things happened up there. The end of the passageway seems to be where the most sightings are including my own and Richard’s. I believe you and don’t think your mind was playing any tricks with you.

  8. Tim watson February 7, 2015 at 4:01 pm #

    Do you still own The store at 60? I run the forgotten paranormal society and I would live to investigate 62 with my team. Could you let me know who the owner/tenant of 62 is now?

  9. Kira April 6, 2015 at 5:47 pm #

    loved this! im lay in bed reading this and the atmosphere in my room completely changed half way through, so much so it freaked me out and I had to turn to face my door. the house I live in is haunted by an old lady and I have a feeling she’s in my room with me now. she’s always been harmless although many freaky things have happened, mainly objects disappearing or actually seeing things being moved with no-one touching them. ive gotten used to it now but it still freaks me out every now and then.

  10. Stuart April 6, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    Great read…. Only ever went upstairs in the music shop a few times.. But as it got narrower towards the back with all the vinyls and posters it did become spooky!

  11. mattallenmusic April 6, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

    Wow, scary stuff! But now I really want to check it out. Great read Angela.

  12. Jacque Smith April 6, 2015 at 9:56 pm #

    I used to always sell stuff to you guys. I would always make a trip into the shop every weekend with my dad. I remember all the events you used to hold, I remember Dawn, Craig and Kieren working there. Good times.

  13. Geordie April 6, 2015 at 10:06 pm #

    Frequented this shop regularly and I distinctly remember feeling very uneasy when I was left alone upstairs looking at vinyls, so much so that I had to come back downstairs, almost like a sense of dread. A very interesting read and I wholeheartedly believe it

    • angelacollings April 6, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

      Upstairs was the epicentre of it. I unfortunately spent a lot of time up there.

  14. Anna April 6, 2015 at 10:09 pm #

    I was drinking at the crew and saw fire coming from the upstairs but when I screamed for me friends I looked back up and it was gone. Thought I’d had a few too many and went home. Considering fire was never really mentioned in this blog maybe it was the drink but you never know

    • angelacollings April 6, 2015 at 10:17 pm #

      That is fascinating especially as it was hit during the war. Nothing would surprise me. We had the water apparition.

  15. Sarah April 6, 2015 at 10:09 pm #

    heyy I have only just come across this blog and I’m so glad I did as I when I was younger I would regularly go into the shop with my parents mainly my mum and I would always say I could smell polish but nobody else could smell it so I just thought I was smelling thing but I do recall one Saturday afternoon whilst in the shop with my mum that mum said she could smell tobacco but i couldn’t. Reading this has just put the whole thing into prespective for me as I myself was not a believe .

    • angelacollings April 6, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

      The polish was really strong Richard and I would comment on it all the time. It was that old waxy polish smell.

  16. Karl Whitmore April 6, 2015 at 10:21 pm #

    Entertainment Exchange used to be brilliant- bought so much from there. Had no idea bout the ghosts. I used to work nearby in the Arts Centre in Pool Bank St in the mid 90s. There was so much ghostly activity- they wouldn’t let me lock up at night without lights coming on, doors flinging open….. There is definitely something weird about that whole area of town!

    • angelacollings April 6, 2015 at 10:26 pm #

      Karl that whole part of Nuneaton is definitely very very active. I had heard the Art’s Centre was also haunted.

    • Maria April 17, 2015 at 3:24 pm #

      yes the art centre is haunted, as I was watching what was going on, on stage once on my own I saw a man dressed in Elizabethan costume and thought he was part of the panto! he smiled at me and I smiled back all the time thinking who is he? I went to the green room and asked the girls who he could be and of course no one knew. I actually thought afterwards that it was the father of one of the girls working at the side of the stage and asked her if her dad was in the panto I am sure she thought I was mad. I never saw him again, but have never got it out of my mind. I have had other experiences as well though.

      • angelacollings April 17, 2015 at 6:45 pm #

        Wow what a creepy experience. I do believe that corner of Nuneaton unbelievably haunted.

  17. Mr W April 6, 2015 at 10:56 pm #

    Quite a few of my experiences working there now make sense, 2 years I worked there and kept everything to myself

  18. Linzi April 6, 2015 at 11:00 pm #

    😊 one of my friends must have worked for you, he has told me a few stories! X

  19. Iceman12 April 6, 2015 at 11:18 pm #

    Really great stories, the bit about Adi has well and truly got me creeped out! I’ve heard that Next in the Ropewalk is meant to be rather creepy. Apparently the store is built on the grounds of what used to be a morgue

  20. Aaron Stokes April 7, 2015 at 2:22 am #

    Hi angie,
    Aaron here, just came across this from a friend i just met afterwork asking me about ur shop saying do you remember working there? And asked if anything happened there and i told him no end of stuff i experienced before reading this. I can remember having “Robert” running into the games shop looking white as a ghost claming he had felt like he had been held an his whole body was as cold as ice. To the cigar and toast smell as i would describe it in september or october each year. And the late nights listening to upstairs in the records side and the sounds of stock falling or footsteps.
    Was an absolute blessing working for u 2 and i hands down will say that the place was full of eerie times when i worked there.
    Enjoyable read thank you for reminiscing. Despite how much stuff u must of encountered in all those years owning the business.

    Kind regards
    Aaron stokes

  21. Mina April 7, 2015 at 6:49 am #

    Really enjoyed reading this, it’s defo a place to work and to be honest I think they are lost souls,any jobs let me no xx

  22. megagaminggalore April 7, 2015 at 6:54 am #

    Hi angela u probably remember me i used to come in ur shop frequently and repair discs for you. Anyway great blog wish you had told me the place was haunted my flatmate i really into the paranormal

  23. megagaminggalore April 7, 2015 at 6:57 am #

    Hi i wonder if you remember me i used to come in frequently and repair discs. I read your blog an wish u had told me about this ages agoy flatmate is really into the paranormal

  24. michelle April 7, 2015 at 8:32 am #

    Intresting blog I really want to go and adventere now go take a camera down see if we could pick up on sonthing creepy !!! 🙂

  25. Andrew moloney April 7, 2015 at 8:39 am #

    Spent many an hour hunting for treasures upstairs in my teenage years and always felt uneasy, especially if on your own. Did a quick Google check and although no bombs fell on that exact address on the night of the 17th of may 1941, 13 people with Queens Road address were killed in a bombing raid. One Sidney clarck lived at 64

  26. Cara April 7, 2015 at 9:08 am #

    Hi Ange, I had a spooky feeling in 62, when “Robert” was there. He said it was eerie.
    I just dismissed it, until I was upstairs looking at the LPs, and I felt all cold, and it felt like a cold draft in my ear, I actually felt my hair move. I was standing near the back of the shop upstairs at the time. Needless to say I never went upstairs in the shop again. Always stayed near the front door. Lol.

    • Cara April 7, 2015 at 9:14 am #

      Also my cousin Scott worked in 60 Queens Road and he said it was haunted as well.

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

      God knows how many people did and never said anything. I tried to keep it quiet because it is not really good for business. That whole street is definitely very, very active. x

  27. Heather McLean April 7, 2015 at 10:31 am #

    Hi Angela, hope you are well! Wow this brings back so many memories 🙂 That ghost kept me very busy for 2 years and I felt like I was forever tidying up the piles of videos he pushed off the shelves! I saw the old man once too, although I didn’t realise at the time. I thought he was a customer and followed him upstairs, I was so confused when I got upstairs and there was no one there. I also remember strange things happening with the lights flickering on and off. I noticed things being moved too, especially scissors which disappeared from behind the till downstairs and then appeared upstairs in strange places.

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 1:06 pm #

      Hey Heather xxx How lovely to hear from you. Everything you are saying was experienced by so many of the staff and of course myself. I didn’t put a lot of the stuff in the blog because so many things happened. You know the disappearing from downstairs to upstairs happened all the time. Dawn had a bad experience once with a hammer. No wonder we were always so crazy. Hope you are well. Catch up with me on FB if you get a chance xxx

  28. Anonymous April 7, 2015 at 10:40 am #

    do you know whether the person who owns this now has had any similar experiences?

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 1:04 pm #

      The Adi in the blog is the current tennant so yes.

  29. Joy Dehany April 7, 2015 at 11:31 am #

    reading this, I felt waves of energy flowing through me. This house is very active with “something” at night, it doesn’t bother us like it used to, as we think we’ve seen off the nasty activity but last night took the p, I could hear someone walking around and talking and it wasn’t the sound of the neighbours this time coming through the walls, as they have completely different accents. I was on the verge of calling the police but there was no one here and all the doors and windows were locked still. The sound was clear and so were the foot steps. Sick of it now, Always seems so active at this time of year. Hope you are coping with any ongoing activity even though you aren’t in that building anymore.

  30. Katie April 7, 2015 at 12:05 pm #

    Has this store sold now Angela?

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 1:04 pm #

      Yes it was re-rented to the “Adi” in the story well his boss.

      • Kate April 7, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

        A few friends & I have a ghost hunting group and we meet regular for events and we have had some exciting adventures/experiences along the way! Such a shame as it seems an interesting building!! Living in nuneaton this is on our doorstep 😀

      • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

        It is quite the most active building I have ever heard of or experienced. If you can get to it then try.

  31. Maxine April 7, 2015 at 1:22 pm #

    my cousin shared your blog on fb , fascinating account of what happened during your time there. My mum lived in a very haunted house in Edward Street, I lived in a very haunted flat in Windsor Street , so a very active area of town. I truly believe your experiences and I have a ghost in the house I live now in Somerset,living room stinks of fags in the mornings , that same sense of dread, feeling like a fog has come over the room . Gets worse in the Autumn time and if we talk of moving . I was also awaken by smoke being blown in my face and the smoke alarm going off for no reason. Thanks for sharing your experiences, the bit where ‘Adi’ spoke to you about there is 6 of them, that really made my hair stand up. Scary.

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 1:25 pm #

      Thank you Maxine. The whole of that area of Nuneaton seems incredibly active. The stories I have heard since and actually the other store number 60 we owned was haunted too. The activity however in 62 was constant and relentless. This was where I spent most of my time too and experienced so much as did my staff. I have to say the ‘Adi’ incident probably freaked me out more than ANYTHING else. Strange about the Autumn correlation with you too. Autumn was a trigger at 62 too. x

      • Maxine April 7, 2015 at 1:52 pm #

        You really should write some more of your experiences, was great reading about it !!

  32. Liam Hollis April 7, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

    I used to buy a lot of Vinyl from there, and would spend a long time upstairs on my own sorting through, I always thought someone was watching over my shoulder and would hear people behind me, only to turn round and no one be there. never really thought anything of it. Just put it down to being an old place, creaky floorboards and heavy boxes of Vinyl. Be great to do a proper investigation there.

  33. Claire Jacques April 7, 2015 at 2:30 pm #

    wow just read this, thanks for sharing this. I’m a 100% believer in this and keep an open mind to everything. I’ve seen things and heard things in my old house and to this day I still believe it. X

  34. daisys mum April 7, 2015 at 4:53 pm #

    my staff just flagged this up for me, Its clara, from Kitbag! a couple of years ago we invited some ghost hunters to our shop, we didnt get any results, but we have had a few weird things happen, especially when we extended the shop, seems to have settled now, when i worked at pizza hut no end of odd things happened, all the staff had strange experiences, and i was haunted on my wedding night at Bosworth Hall – the upstairs of the old building is very haunted with cold spots and the like – hope you and dawn are well, i miss you!!

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 6:06 pm #

      Hey Clara, how lovely to hear from you. That whole part of Nuneaton is incredibly active so many stories. I miss the shop and everybody there but not the spirits. Love to you and the family and come find me on Facebook. xx

  35. sally bishop April 7, 2015 at 6:03 pm #

    Hi Angela i now live in Nottingham but frequented your shop many a time and spent many an hour shuffling through vinyls and cassettes what a brilkiant blog it was thought provoking and in the same breath a reminder of home, and some very happy times. Ty for the blog and good luck with all you do.

    Sally

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

      Hi Sally, how lovely to hear from you. The blog has gone a bit viral this weekend. Nearly twenty thousand views in the last couple of days. It was a wonderful shop. Happy days and never a dull day. I miss it but not the ghosts. Good luck with all you do too xx

  36. Dave Sutton April 7, 2015 at 6:07 pm #

    Fascinating read. I worked there for like 2 years and never experienced any of it lol. But then Dawn did call me “supernaturally ignorant” once haha – I miss EE, had some good times there.

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 6:10 pm #

      Hi Dave, I remember you of course. Hope you are well. Oh Dawn called everybody something – usually me. Lovely to hear from you. They were great days and a great shop. Take care x

      • Dave Sutton April 7, 2015 at 6:12 pm #

        You too Angela x

  37. sally bishop April 7, 2015 at 7:16 pm #

    You were my all time fave shop for northern soul and motown ty for the memories great great read x

  38. Jerry Spencer April 7, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

    Really enjoyed your blog. I used to be a bit of a sceptic until I had an experience working at George Eliot Hospital. I had almost finished night shift and was expecting a nurse to come in early. Me and two colleagues were with a patient in a side ward near to the nurses station. I was facing the door and they were opposite me with their backs to the door which was wide open. The three of us heard footsteps coming down the ward and I saw a female figure in uniform with a cardigan over her shoulders. I went out into the ward to speak to her but there was no one there. Several others had seen her at different times too. But when you think that the hospital is on the site of the old workhouse………

    • angelacollings April 7, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

      Doesn’t surprise me at all. Hospitals have so much death and sadness. My father worked at Netley Hospital just after the war and experienced a similar thing. They eventually knocked it down. So glad you enjoyed the blog. x

  39. dave April 7, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    hi angela very gd story i dont know how to say this i only went to 62 once wot i seen when i left made me not go again

  40. sian April 7, 2015 at 10:59 pm #

    Hi Angela, my son shared this via fb, I also smelt the polish it was really strong and i made a comment at the time.

    I have friends that viewed an haunted property on Earls Road years ago,
    During the viewing they went in to the bathroom separately. After the viewing my friend asked her hubby if he saw the old woman sitting on the edge of the bath? He also had seen her but was too freaked out to mention it at the time!

  41. adrian edgington April 7, 2015 at 11:26 pm #

    I met you several times once when i had my sandwich business . [EAT AND ATE SANDWICHES ]and also when I worked at Manor park school .I tried to get young people on placement at the shop.
    I often sold sandwiches at the
    photography shop and i also know the two cousins whose aunty Nancy ran the shop whilst they where growing up .
    One of the men is Walter Gibson the photographer at the Nuneaton News and the other is a man who I used to work with .
    if you email me your story I will send it to him and Walter and they may be able to fill-in some of the history .
    Dont forget that people died over the road from the shop when people where crushed to death as they left an event at the co op hall that was on top of the Kwick Save supermarket that is now ALDI .good luck and remember no one has ever died from seeing or hearing a ghost
    My email is adrian.edgington@live.co.uk

  42. cam sherriff April 8, 2015 at 1:10 am #

    Have you ever wanted to do a vigil in there or set up night vision cameras or recorders to see what it picks up?

  43. Linda April 8, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

    Hi I grew up round the corner in Alexandra Street and would often call into this shop when it was the photographers! The old man was very nice and would sell me films for my instant camara cheap as they were out of date :). It used to have a wooden polished serving counter which would always smell of beeswax,

    • angelacollings April 8, 2015 at 5:03 pm #

      We inherited the desk and the constant polish smell.

  44. kerri jenkins April 9, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

    this was a good read. I believe in ghosts myself, Never experienced it myself, but anything is possible. How you put up with it for so long i will never know. i would be a nervous wreck. But then again, you was there for years, and they never harmed you. So it just goes to show they didn’t have any intention of hurting you. I went in that shop as a child as well. it was a pretty awsome shop 🙂

  45. rita.danks123@gmail.com April 16, 2015 at 8:13 am #

    We know their are spirit being that share our lives, with us. And always will, l lived in a haunted house, bought up, with them being their, but always tryed to ignore them, but they do make themselves known, used to ask them why they were here, but they never replyed, l think they are oblivious of our existence. They are their for a reason, and l think they are searching for peace. So l used to try and direct them to a better place, l have left that place, now, but they are still their. Be careful, and pray for guidance. Thats my best advice. From a fellow believer.

  46. Spirits of warwick October 21, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

    Interesting. I,craig run a paranormal group, and find this interesting and would like to know more. We as a paranormal investigation group would like to document this. We would love to chat to you sometime. Please contact me (craig) on 07980459154. Text me and we will call back. Yours faithfully, craig. (lead investigator)

  47. Not saying December 14, 2016 at 1:28 pm #

    Hi, I came across this blog I’m not going to give my name as I don’t want too I used to spend a lot of time in there buying as much vinyl as I could, one day I’m not sure when but as I stood there looking through the records I had a very uneasy feeling someone was behind me as I glanced behind to my right I saw a man staring at me he was only there for a few seconds but I can see him now in my minds eye, I basically left straight away with a member of staff asking me if I was alright to which I replied I would have been if I hadn’t just seen a ghost upstairs he looked gobsmacked and scared but not as much as me

Leave a Reply

