Who Am I………..

22 Aug

Well I have for a long time now contemplated whether or not I wanted to start a blog, in all honestly who would really want to read my rambling rants.   But then WordPress is free and I thought why not, I can fit it in when The One Show and Cuntryfile are on!

So I start to register and then I have to write a little bit of a biography, detailing who I am.  Then the realisation dawns, I haven’t actually got a clue who I am or where I am from.  

I was born in leafy Surrey to a father from Manchester with Irish Catholic routes, and a mother from Liverpool with Church of Scotland routes and I have now relocated to the West Midlands for the last couple of decades, during which I spent a good four of those years travelling mainly in the United States.   I then start to acknowledge that I have never really felt I belonged to any one place, creed or culture.  

I was the child of older parents who were the children of older parents, I have long since been the only member of my family left alive in this country and as such have sometimes felt a great detachment to any feelings of sentimentality in relation to a certain area.  My feelings of attachment are more directed at memories rather than places.  

So, who knew that starting a blog could be so internally thought provoking.  I actually think being so rootless has made me more grounded, and if anything more open and accepting of change.

So, that is who I am a little bit of everything and a whole lot of nothing.    Welcome to my blog which I promise will cover in greater detail my slow, tortuous descent into insanity but commenting on life, media, and all things fabulous before I actually hit the bottom of the pit. x

 

 

17 Responses to “Who Am I………..”

  1. Mark August 22, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    What a superb start. loquent , witty and bittersweet without being self indulgent….I never knew you had no family here, such a sad thing to know,most of my family is dead also and my parents are in Spain I too feel detached from everywhere and everyone……who are you ?……..my friend Ange xxxx

    • angelacollings August 22, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      Oh Mark thank-you so much. That is so sweet, that is why we get on so well, my friend Mark xxxxxx

      • Mark August 22, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

        bless you….and blog away…..im gonna be a big fan hehehe xxx

  2. hockeyjules August 22, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Welcome to word press

  3. Helen Smith August 22, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    I’m glad you’ve started a blog. I have subscribed.

  4. Sue Edmonds August 22, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Great read, very deep, not the Angela comments I’m used to reading. Looking forward to future blogs :o)

    • angelacollings August 22, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

      Thanks Sue, I do have occasional reflective moments, occasional xx

  5. Kieran York August 22, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    Angela, I never miss a thing you write on FB, and will not be missing any of your future blogs. Some people have a rare and wonderful gift of looking at life a little differently. You got it! And you are entertaining, have great humor, or as you would say humour. So, I’m your fan from across the pond. The best, my friend!

    • angelacollings August 22, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      Thank-you so much my friend, those words mean so much to me. It is Humour not humor ;-0 xxx love you xxx

  6. Ange Chan August 22, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Looking forward to reading your future blogs Ange. You do make me smile! x

    • angelacollings August 22, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Thank you Ange, as long as I can do that it will be worth it xx

  7. obsessiveillustrator August 22, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    cracking- I shall follow with interest !

  8. Anne August 22, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Congratulations on your new blog Angela! I am glad you took the plunge to write looking to hearing more from you!

  9. Thuy Smith International August 23, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    Great first blog! Love it! Love you!!!

  10. Geoff August 23, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Well done Ange , look forward to reading 🙂 xxxx

Leave a Reply

